Sleeping Princess

I’m a double layout girl. I like for my layouts to flow in an album. Because mine are in cronological order the next set of photos don’t always suit the layout I just did. I find that I have numerous photos of one event anyway…… especially since purchasing my Canon SLR. It doesn’t mean I haven’t done single layouts, I have done plenty. I give them as gifts, especially ones in those hanging frames that have plenty of room for 3d embellishments, and there is a front and back page to every album.

My second daughter, since she is home a lot with mum, is a great photo subject during the day. Whether she’s sleeping, making choc chip cookies with mum, having fun on the tyre swing or playing with her brother. On this day she was unwell and finally after having a real rough day fell asleep on the lounge, but to my amazement while I was clicking away she woke smiling up at me. Hopefully a sign she was on the mend.

The inspiration I had for this layout came from Sassafras Lass gallery. Not quite sure who the author was though. I used-

  • Papers– Fancy Pants PP Simplicity and Daydream
  • Accessories– Kaiser gemstones, Crafty Queen Ribbon, MM Flowers,epoxy flowers, buttons and brad, Fti brads and Crate Paper Brad.
  • Tools– Autumn Leaves Stamp, zig pen, Versa cube Pinecone Ink, Carl Trimmer and 3l double sided tabs.

I used a big dinner plate to trace for my circle of rhinestones and flowers. lol. You should have seen the looks I got from my fellow scrappers when I was doing it. They were very curious to see what I was up to. I did this layout on one of my thursday night excursions to the local scrap shop. Which of course is less than 300m from my home….lol. You wouldn’t have it any other way.

Thanks for looking!

A day with my upline…..

Theresa, my upline, and I had a great day together yesterday. I arrived at 10.30am and left around 5.30pm. We had coffee, lunched on sumptuous fish, chips and calamari mmmmm……. Oh and of course made some SU cards lol. It was wonderful. I even had my eldest daughter with me and she made some cards as well. You know what they say ‘Like mother, like daughter’. (or something like that) For a 7yo she is quite talented. It was her very first go and I will put a pic up of one of her cards as well.

Seeing as Fathers day was coming up we tried our hand at putting some together. I liked Theresasdesign alot, so it is very similar with a few subtle differences. Jemma used the same stamp but her own design.

This is my little beauty. I used

  • Stamp Set– Bronco buster, One of a kind, Weathered BG and bronco wheel.
  • Cardstock– Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip, More Mustard, Really Rust and Very Vanilla.
  • Ink– Chocolate Chip, Really Rust, Pumpkin Pie, Cranberry Crisp, Always Artichoke and More Mustard
  • Accessories– Chocolate Chip Ribbon.
  • Tools-Stamp-a-ma-jig, Wheel roller, Sponges and Designer label and circles punches.

The main image was mainly sponging with all ink colours listed with the positive of a circle used as a mask to give the sunset look. It was fun! Now for my little girls-

Isn’t it gorgeous!!

  • Stamp Set– Bronco Buster and Big Deal Alphabet.
  • Cardstock– Whisper White, Tempting Turquoise and Pumpkin Pie.
  • Ink– Chocolate Chip, Tempting Turquoise and Bravo Burgundy.
  • Tools– Stamp-a-ma-jig and sponges.

She stamped the alphabet on to whisper white cs and then cut them out and stuck them down to give a little depth. The photo doesn’t do it justice unfortunately. She liked the sponging we were doing to ours and wanted to have a go as well. For her first card she did well and of course had a great time! When we got home dad asked how her day was and if she made any cards. She quickly slipped her fathers day one away and showed all the others she made on the day so not to ruin the surprise.  I’m pretty sure he didn’t catch on. lol.

But that is not all! There’s heaps to come. After our Fathers Day extravaganza we hunted down a colour challenge. Therese already had a blog saved to favourites and we came across color throw down 6. It was a great colour challenge. They were Barely Banana, Certainly Celery, Ruby Red, Soft Sky and Pumpkin Pie. This is what I came up with-

  • Stamp Sets– Pick a Petal, Curvy Verses, Polka Dot BG.
  • Cardstock-Ruby Red, Barely Banana, Pumpkin Pie and Soft Sky.
  • Ink-Ruby Red, Certainly Celery, Soft Sky and Pumpkin Pie.
  • Accessories– Certainly Celery Ribbon.
  • Tools– Designer label punch, snail trail tape, foam dots.

I had fun putting this together. I like my dots and spots, it gives things great texture and lift. The ribbon was easy to do. I just put down a snail trail to where I want it, start at the top, press down a little ribbon then lift it up, go down the ribbon about half a centre meter, then join it to the tape again. You can do it at all sorts of angles to give the zigzag look. It really lifts your work into 3d. You can also sew through the middle of your ribbon when it is placed to hold it down extra well and also give more texture. I love my curvy verses and think it goes really well with flowers. Also some of them fit really well in the designer label punch. Theresas design is beautiful of course! I love her work!.

Our next card was a colour challenge that Therese had. I think it’s one of her favourite colour combos. My result is this-

Unfortunately the photo is a little dark down the bottom around the bow, but I’m sure you can still see it. I really like stamps that have definitive edges and make very clear images. But I wanted to  extend myself and had a go at the petal prints stamp set (images leave watercolour effects). I really liked it when I had finished and as it turned out so did Theresa. You get a great feeling when someone has been stamping and card making a lot longer than you and tell you they like your card, you feel goooood! So I started to make one for her as well, but left to fetch lunch for us, so Theresa finished it. I used

  • Stamp Sets– Petal Prints and Always
  • Cardstock-Always Artichoke, Very Vanilla, Perfect Plum and Pale Plum.
  • Ink-Always Artichoke, Pale Plum and Perfect Plum.
  • Accessories– Always Artichoke Ribbon

The scallop was hand drawn then cut and tucked under the strip of Perfect Plum. I also sponged the main image to soften the image. On the vanilla I used the positive image of the stem and placed pale plum images randomly to also soften the Vanilla. It has to be one of my favourites so far since joining the SU team.

Lucky last! This is not my own design but I saw this one on Splitcoast Stampers done by angelladcrockett and just had to do it. It is a little different to the one on Splitcoast but not much. lol (I liked it that much).

  • Stamp Sets– Bodacious Bouquet and Always.
  • Cardstock– Real Red, Old Olive and Whisper White.
  • Ink– Old Olive, Real Red and Apricot Appeal.
  • Tools– foam dots, circle punch and snail trail.

I didn’t ‘rock and roll’ the little blossoms but opted to sponge the edges instead. I also decided not to use the ribbon and just stamped the sentiment under the arrangement of flowers. I think it is a very bright and beautiful card and really cheers you up!

Thanks for looking! I will have some scrapping posted up next!!