How do you do a sunset?

IMG_7551_1

Hey everyone! I am very curious……I have tried doing a sunset image using sponges and 4 different inks and I’m not extremely happy with it……so what colours do you use to make a gorgeous sunset? Also in what order do you use these colours? Let me know all your secrets before I put another poor example up here in blog land…..LOL!

IMG_7550_1

As you can see I have performed the emboss resist technique. I used the brown embossing powder that I picked up the other day among some other fabulous colours. As you know I sponged the background. I used the colours So Saffron, More Mustard, Pumpkin Pie and Cameo Coral. Yes I know….. Cameo Coral! (shudder)  Even the name starts my skin tingling…LOL! Maybe that’s where I went wrong. Maybe I should have used a lighter pink…hhmmmmmm! I might have another go.

After the sponging I then used my Chocolate Chip Marker to produce the shadow for the tree and reindeer. Think I stuffed up his back legs, but hey I am still on my learner plates…LOL!

Thanks for dropping by!

12 thoughts on “How do you do a sunset?

  1. Hi Kirsty,
    Gosh if this is a bad example I would love to see your good one lol. This card is beautiful Kirsty and there is nothing wrong with it. I think as demos we all have trouble with. . . . Cameo Coral!! But on the very odd occasion it does have its uses and it looks fab on your sunset. If you have a brayer then Michelle Zindorf has amazing examples of sunrises, sunsets etc. Here is her link if you haven’t got it – http://zindorf.blogs.splitcoaststampers.com/
    Hope that helps but you don’t need it.
    Hugs
    Michelle

    Like

  2. Umm… What Karen said!! This card is absolutely gorgeous, Kirsty!
    I have just started experimenting with masking and sunsets with my brayer… I also use the method that Michelle linked to above. Now I want to try it with sponges like yours, lol!

    Like

  3. I think this card is awesome and your sunset is great, even with the cameo coral- I hate that colour too!! Great idea to use a marker for the shadow. Do you know what I do? Stamp it on the smooth side of your stamp-a-magig imaging sheet, flip it over and then rub the image on the cardstock, works great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

