Inkspiration Colour Challenge #7

Makeesha%20Colour%20Challenge%207v2

Here is Makeesha’s Byl’s Inkspiration Colour Challenge for this week. Now this certainly was a challenge for me. But oh how I love it! Really Rust is a hard one for me to work with but I was so surprised how well it works with the colours in this challenge. Here is my design for this week

IMG_6575_1

I started with the base! I versa mark inked one of the stems out of the Pocket Silhouettes SS around the edge and then clear embossed it. The Sage Shadow piece has the Sanded BG stamped in second generation as I didn’t want it too dark. I then distressed the edges with the Cutter Kit. For the main image I did a technique I learnt at convention. I am not sure what it was called though, I just cannot remember….see having kids causes you to lose brain cells…lol! If anyone can remember the name of the technique that Jill Kocherhans (oh no! I’m not even sure if Jill was the one who showed it now!) or was it Pam? Oh dear I’m just jabbering now! Oh well if anyone can remember, please refresh me. Thanks.

Back to the card. I will call it background layering! It’s like making a landscape with layers without actually layering! I stamped the lightest colour, being Sage Shadow, first. Second was the Really Rust and then Chocolate Chip representing the foreground. I hope you can see it. This is my first attempt and I’m sure I can only get better at it! As long as I don’t forget it…lol!

To finsh it off I sponged around the edges in all three colours. I then added a Eyelet Edge punched in Really Rust on the end. For some embellishments I tied the Choc Chip Ribbon around the image and tied a Vanilla button on with Linen Thread. Finally I pierced holes using the Mat Pack in the Sage Shadow CS. What do you think??

Here is complete list of what I used-

  • Stamp Set– Pocket Silhouettes and Sanded BG
  • Cardstock– Chocolate Chip, Sage Shadow, Really Rust and Very Vanilla
  • Ink– Chocolate Chip, Sage Shadow, Really Rust and Versa Mark
  • Accessories– Chocolate Chip Ribbon, Very Vanilla Button, Linen Thread, Clear Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Mat Pack, Sponges, Cutter Kit and Eyelet Edge Punch.

I hope my creation inspires you this week. If you are after more check out the other designer’s creations-

Thanks for dropping by!

15 thoughts on “Inkspiration Colour Challenge #7

  1. Hooley Shadooley Kirsty, this card is STUNNING! WOW you would never know you were challenged with the colours! I absolutely love what you have done here! – you know I can’t remember the name of that technique either! Definitely must be all those kids we have! LOL! Thanks for your amazing, inspiring creation!
    Love Keesh x

    Like

  2. OK I am going to agree with Keesh, WOWEE this is gorgeous! I was tossing up about that stamp and trying to be good and not order any more till I use every stamp I now have…..But boy you have made it hard making it look soooooo Beautiful!
    Kelx

    Like

  3. ROFPMSL… Really Rust. I bet you groaned when you saw that on the list!!!!! See it’s not a terrible colour. It only looks bad when I attempted to put it with those other colours which shall remain nameless. I’ll never live that Faux Pas down. Anyways, another gorgeous card as always. Lovely details.

    Like

  4. Oh wow, you managed to make this color combo look really soft and feminine! I don’t know why but I use it, it always end up on masculine cards… You’ve opened my eyes to new possibilities! 😀

    Have a great weekend!
    Cindy

    Like

  5. Absolutely beautiful. Another amazing creation! Been loving the scrapbooking layouts too. I have a stack of cards to make and I have been inspired yet again. Thanks!

    Like

  6. I don’t like it……he he he….I loves it! But too many compliments will make you get a swelled head!! PMSL. All bow to Mrs Brown for she has got it going down! pom poh bam ba da dee (see i’m singing you a rap song!) NO i’m not on drugs. Should be, but i’m not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

