Inkspiration Inspiration #8

Hey everyone! I’m really enjoying being a designer for  Makeesha’s challenges. They are so much fun and challenges are soooo my thing…LOL! This week was just a teency bit hard for me, so unfortunately it is not absolutely fabulous. I love it when something comes together so easily, but alas this one was not coming together for me too well.

Here is the inspiration pic-

Makeesha_Inspiration_Challenge_8

Here is my submission-

IMG_6955_1

I must admit though I did learn something new! For myself anyway, I, by no means, am saying that this is my own idea, I’m sure someone else has done it. But I have not yet heard or seen it before.

What happened was- I was thinking that white embossing powder would be too bright for the leaves. Going by the pic they seemed a shimmery white. I also thought that Clear would not be bright enough, so in a light bulb moment I decided to mix the two together. I thought this is either going to rock or it would be a disaster, especially wasting embossing powder by mixing them. But you never know if you don’t give it a go…..right?

So the result……I loved it! The texture it gave was wonderful and it even looked shimmery because in spots you could see through the embossing to see the colour below. Here is a close up-

IMG_6957_1

Cool hey??? I’m not too sure about the rest of the design though….it seemed a little ….blah to me. What do you think?

  • Stamp Set- Organic Outlines, Circle Circus and Bet Yet
  • Cardstock- Old Olive and Sahara Sand
  • Ink- Versa Mark, Sahara Sand and Old Olive
  • Accessories- Clear Embossing Powder, White Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Scallop Circle Punch, 1 1/4 Circle Punch, Cuttlebug Circle Label Die, Cuttlebug Machine, Dimensionals and Old Olive Ribbon

Anyway check out the other DT’s efforts I’m sure they will astound you.

I hope I have inspired you all in some way this week

Thanks for dropping by!

13 thoughts on “Inkspiration Inspiration #8

  1. Holy heck – you did superbly with this challenge Kirsty! I had the problem of having 3 laptops in the house and each one showed the inspiration pic in a different colour scheme! lol I had no idea which to go with! lol

    But you’ve done fantastic – I love it!

    Karen
    xo

  2. Fabulous, great idea with the embossing powder. As soon as I saw the inspiration pic I thought of either ‘organic outlines’ or ‘flight of the butterfly’, however I don’t own either set!

  3. ooooh I like this a lot Kirsty! It isn’t blah at all, and I think that stamp set works a treat!!!! Love the clear and white embossing powder, as it gives off a great effect! I will have to try that one day! Thanks so much for your inspired creation this week! Love Keesh x

  4. HI Kirsty,

    definately not blah, I think it looks just great. I think your embossing idea was great – inspirational, and gave just the right effect to the card.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

